I Feel No Need To Pray

There are times we feel no need for prayer in our lives.

We feel too important, too self-conscious, too independent… ‘prayer is for the weak, the struggling, or those who need a safety-net in life.’ Of course, we’d rarely admit to these reasons.

It’s easy for us to come to a major turning-point in ministry, work, relationships, family development, use of money or possessions… we apply common sense, we apply sophisticated criteria, talk to the accountant, or decide by feelings of peace or comfort… yet fail to bring it to God in prayer.

Often our reasons to not pray are subtle, and so:

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting (Psalm 139:23–24).

In Christ, Tory Cayzer.

Leave a Reply

